School of Environmental Technology


Our Vision

To be a globally recognized School of Environmental Technology in need-driven research, training and sustainable management of the environment.


To promote inter-disciplinary research, service-based learning and innovative course content delivery towards solving environmental-related problems through the application of technology and promotion of sustainable built-environment.

Our Core Values

The school of Environmental Technology’s Core Value with the acronym ‘i-care’ stands for:

Integrity: Integrity through the promotion of high ethical standards in Professional trainandpractice.

Creativity: Creativity in innovative design, planning, beautification and managementoflandedproperties.

Accountability: Accountability in ensuring that optimum values are derived by the clients through the professional services rendered by our products.

Rationality:Rationality in offering the best solutions to environmental-related problems.

Excellence: Excellence in the pursuit of high quality research, teaching, professionaltrainingandpractice.


The School of Environmental Technology (SET) was established in 1989 with the admission of 27 pioneer students in the 1989/90 academic session under the foundation Dean, Prof. (Arc) E.A. Adeyemi (fellow of the Nigerian Institute of Architects and first Professor of Architecture in Sub-Saharan Africa). At the inception of the School, there were 8 academic staff members and 4 academic Departments. These are Departments of Architecture, Estate Management, Quantity Surveying, and Urban and Regional Planning.

As at today, the academic Departments have increased to 7 basic programmes commonly found globally in any well-established School or Faculty of Environmental Technology with the addition of Departments of Industrial Design, Surveying and Geo-informatics, and Building. These academic Departments run undergraduate (B.Tech), Postgraduate Diploma (PGD), and graduate (M.Tech, and Ph.D) programmes. The population of postgraduate and graduate students has significantly increased to 797 while that of the undergraduate students is 2,606. The populations of the academic and non-academic staff are 105 and 59 respectively.

Since SET is an academic School in the University, the School appropriately adopted the Vision and Mission of the University. As the School works assiduously to achieve this Vision and Mission of the University, it has been ranked the BEST School of Environmental Technology in Nigeria by National University Commission. The School, which equally houses the Department of Architecture, produced the BEST FEMALE ARCHITECT in the ARCON Professional qualifying examination in 2013 while its Department of Urban and Regional Planning was ranked the BEST Department of Urban and Regional Planning in Nigeria in 2012/2013 academic session by Town Planners Registration Council of Nigeria (TOPREC). The Department is also a member of the Association of Africa Planning Schools (AAPSs).

The School of Environmental Technology is structured to promote an interdisciplinary approach to professional education and training in the basic disciplines of Environmental planning, Design, and Management. Man’s environment is his biggest asset, which needs to be developed and managed in a sustainable manner. The totality of our environment is very crucial to the education and training programmes in our School. Therefore, the primary aim of the programmes in the School is to identify the critical areas of environmental technology that promote orderly development of the human environment, and training of manpower with a view to achieving sustainable national development. The objectives of the School are to:

(a) provide education that ensures the attainment of professional skills requisite to effective shaping, re-ordering and articulation of the built environment;

(b) provide linkage between theory and practice through active participation in the practical aspects of the disciplines and providing continuing education to practitioners; and

(c) promote academic excellence and provide research opportunities appropriate to the development of national resources and technological skills in meeting emerging national demands.

Since its establishment, the administration of the School has continually enjoyed the support of the entire staff of the School. This is one of the factors that has contributed immensely to the growth and development of the School. The list of the past Deans and their duration of administration is as indicated below:

1. Prof. (Arc) E.A. Adeyemi (1989-1992; 1994-1998)

2. Prof. L.B. Kolawole (1992-1994)

3. Prof. R.B. Fatuyi (1998 - 2000)

4. Prof. D.O. Olanrewaju (2000 - 2005)

5. Prof. S.R. Ogunduyile (2005 - 2009)

6. Prof. D.R. Ogunsemi (2009 - 2013)

7. Prof. J.A.B. Olujimi (2014 - 2017)

8. Prof. I.B. Kashim (2017 - 2021)

9. Prof. I. O. Aje (2021 to Date)